Sunday Soul – A Taste Of The Old Country


It’s been quite a mouthful around here lately. I had a gloriously wild weekend that lasted almost six days: Dubtribe Sound System performed an inspirational show at Temple in San Francisco on friday night – the night started in a peculiar way, but the moment we hit the stage the whole world began to shimmer and shine and everything was clear, calm, and amazing from there on out. On saturday night I stepped up to the decks at Magnifiq and started to really let go, when I was suddenly surrounded by sweet faced people who really, really wanted me to stop playing the LCD Soundsystem cover version of Carl Craig’s Throw which moves my heart, and makes me dance, and is genius, but there they were imploring me to please please please play some more disco (which I hadn’t previously played.) I was stopped dead in my tracks. I had a choice… do i comply, and do what the crowd wants? do I shut down, give up, go home? Or shall I be true to myself and follow my own lead, grab the mic and sing, and be myself and try to win them over, to fight the good and worthy fight? For a couple of awkward techno tracks I felt like crying and seriously considered going home. But then I smiled, and considered this: I expect people to trust me. I do. I still cling to the almost antique idea that as the DJ, I am the maestro, and who i am, where I’m from, or what i think is irrelevant.. I’m here to lead you on a journey, and your responsibility is to dance, to trust me, to challenge yourself and stay with me… put your cocktail down, shut the hell up, and have a sincere emotional (perhaps a spiritual experience) right there on the dance floor. This is largely about capacity, culture, willingness, and love, but mostly it’s about trust. Well if these are my expectations, then I need to be able to demonstrate these virtues. We no longer live in a world where we trust much of anyone, and there’s no reason why anyone should be prepared for a deep, personal, private journey on the midrangey dance floor of a gay club in the tenderloin of San Francisco. So I stayed. I sang. I stuck to my guns, and didn’t blow their minds with disco until we had all arrived together in our hearts, right there on that dance floor. The glib, the weak, and the shabby (some of which were people I loved) were long gone, and it was just us, in it, cheering, dancing, and opening our hearts in a transformative way together. It was fucking beautiful.

Meanwhile we were ramping up for a heatwave. My son was in town. And my best friend/ex girl friend and I were having increasing communication difficulties, and love was not saving the day. Everything was coming together at once and I couldn’t have been more up for it.

It is a taste of the old country for me to open up my heart wildly, and assume you are are smart, open, free, loving, and ready to vibrate with each other in the common experience of setting ourselves to shine and love and move and cheer, and sing, and celebrate our experience in a long, drawn out journey together. It is a revolutionary and as yet unrealized ideal that we can each find our own way, and navigate our own paths with trust, and faith, and an open enough mind to just let go… I wanted to say and sing as little as possible, and throw love bombs at you from the DJ booth with all my heart. And there I was dancing, sweating, grinning, smiling, cheering, and vibrating right there with you. This was my intention, and I gave it everything I got.

As an epilogue to the weekend’s events: Love did save the day, and I kissed the past goodbye. Monday blurred into wednesday night and my world is recolored with real love, and true friendship, sweet tenderness, and devotion. I love San Francisco when it’s too hot to sleep.

Here is the track listing for Sunday Soul – a taste of the old country:

1. Sunday Soul – Program ID
2. Excerpt – Exquisite Corpse – Bauhaus
* introduction
3. Skumble Planner – Marius Vareid
4. Fat Freddys Drop – Jazzanova’s Breathe Easy Mix – Flashback
* panting
5. All About Love – Dub – Analog City
6. All About Love – Analog City
7. Get on down – Mr. Scruff
8. To the brain – Force of Nature
* pick a path…
9. 2 Copies – Barfly
* with krishna at my back
10. VooDoo Ray – A Guy Called Gerald
11. Pump Up the Volume – Marrs
12. ESL 5 – ESL
13. Night Moves – Night House Mix – Rickster
14. The Wait – Dub – Jazzy Eyewear
15. Vem Rebola – Main Acid Mix – DJ Gregory
16. House Nation Under A Groove – Da Rebels
17. Passion – Original Mix – Gat Decor
* close your eyes…
18. Supernature – Cerrone
19. Give Me Love – Coburn
20. Peak Time – Sunshine Jones Extended Disco Remix – Native Intelligence
21. I Go Deep – Jim Rivers
* no difference
22. Lost And Found – Sweetlight Remix – Popular Computer
23. Kept Within – Aril Brikha
24. Why Don’t You Answer – SirBilly Edit – Eberhard Schoener
25. I Love You – Alex S. Remix – Unity
26. Moment – Atjazz Instrumental Mix – Musaria feat. Saturna
* you are so beautiful
27. Bring Down The Walls – Fingers Inc.
28. All We Ever Wanted Was Everything – Bauhaus
29. Excerpt – Exquisite Corpse – Bauhaus
30. Sunday Soul – Program ID
31. Love Come Down – Evelyn Champaign King
32. Sunday Soul – Program ID

Total Running Time: 02 Hours 33 Minutes 36 Seconds
* Performed Live